Skip to main content

Student Mental Health Task Force

Given recent circumstances, we must take action to re-evaluate and address the mental health needs of our students.



Under Goal 1: Enhance the success of our students through educational innovation of NC State’s The Pathway to the Future (2011-2020) Strategic Plan, expanding student mental health and well-being resources was a priority, and significant strides have been made to improve support over the past decade.

The stressors students are experiencing today far outpace the mental health support mechanisms we have in place to meet their needs as their mental, physical and emotional health continue to decline after an especially difficult season. As a result, Goal 3 of the Division of Academic and Student Affairs’ newly launched strategic plan, DASA Reimagined (2022-2028), is to prioritize the well-being and mental health of our students, staff and faculty.

Task Force Charges

As charged by Vice Chancellor and Dean Doneka R. Scott, a university-wide report will be completed, comprised of the following:  

  • Inventory of NC State’s current practices, strategies and programs for addressing and improving student mental health.
  • Conduct a literature review and summarize the curricular and co-curricular best practices for supporting student mental health.
    • Incorporate analysis of national and NC State data trends
    • Incorporate case studies of institutions at the forefront of addressing student mental health, including peer institution comparisons
  • If applicable, identify existing gaps between best practice strategies and our support of student mental health.
  • Identify campus policies, rules, and regulations (PRRs) that impact student mental health and provide recommendations for new PRRs or changes to existing PRRs.
    • Policy examples include attendance, student death communication/postvention, readmitted student, course withdrawal, etc.
    • Identify implementation impacts/concerns and potential pathways or solutions to enhance implementation.
  • Recommend short- and long-term curricular and co-curricular improvements and innovations to address student mental health at NC State.


The final report timeline has been delayed. It will be delivered to Vice Chancellor and Dean Scott in mid-February 2023. Recommendations will begin to be implemented in the spring 2023 semester. 

Meeting Information

Engagement Opportunities

Listening Sessions


  • First Session (virtual, registration required): Wednesday, January 11, 12- 1 p.m.
  • Second Session: Friday, January 13, 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. (in person) – Talley Student Union, Room 4140


  • First Session: Wednesday, January 11, 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. (in person) – Talley Student Union, Room 4140
  • Second Session (virtual, registration required): Thursday, January 19, 12 – 1 p.m.


  • Graduate students (virtual, registration required): Tuesday, January 10, noon – 1 p.m.
  • All students (in person, no registration required): Tuesday, January 17, 4 – 5 p.m., Talley Student Union, Room 4140
  • Undergraduate students (virtual, registration required): Friday, January 20, 2:30 – 3:30 p.m.

Other Opportunities

  • To ensure student voices are heard and incorporated into the task force’s recommendations, the task force will work closely with NC State Student Government’s newly formed Select Student Body Department on Mental Health Intervention (charge iii: Work to get a general sense of the desires of the student body regarding student mental health). Chazzlyn Jackson, chair of the newly formed department, also serves on the Student Mental Health Task Force.
  • Feedback is being accepted through this form through December 16, 2022.
  • Other engagement opportunities will be announced as they are identified.

Postvention at NC State

Learn more about the postvention process at NC State.

Task Force Members

  • Lisa Zapata, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, DASA, Co-Chair
  • Helen Chen, Senior Vice Provost, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, Co-Chair
  • Sarah Ascienzo, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
  • Charles Clift, Assistant Vice Provost and University Registrar, Enrollment Management and Services
  • Angelitha Daniel, Assistant Dean for Student, Faculty and Staff Equity and Inclusion, College of Engineering
  • Shannon DuPree, Director, Wellness and Recreation
  • Alan Ellis, Associate Professor, School of Social Work
  • Justin Hammond, Assistant Vice Chancellor of Strategic Marketing and Communications, DASA
  • Deveshwar Hariharan, Graduate Student Association President, Graduate Student
  • Peter Harries, Dean, The Graduate School
  • Raymond Harrison, Senior Associate Athletics Director, NC State Athletics
  • Courtney Hinton, Associate Medical Director and Primary Care Staff Physician, Campus Health
  • Tim Hogan, Director, NC State Student Centers, Campus Enterprises
  • Chazzlyn Jackson, Chair, Student Government Mental Health Intervention Working Group, Graduate Student
  • Joy Kagendo, Lecturer, Health Minor Coordinator, Department of Health and Exercise Studies, University College
  • Lisa LaBarbera-Mascote, Senior Director, Campus Community Centers, Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity
  • Betsy Lanzen, Associate General Counsel, Office of General Counsel
  • Jerome Lavelle, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, College of Engineering
  • Eleanor Lott,  Department of Wellness, Student Government, Undergraduate Student
  • Donna McGalliard, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor, DASA
  • Herle McGowan, Chair of the Faculty, University Faculty Senate
  • Chester Miller, Director, Residential Learning, University Housing
  • Tina Nelson-Moss, Director of Risk Assessment/Risk Assessment Case Manager, Environmental Health & Public Safety
  • Monica Osburn, Executive Director, Counseling Center and Prevention Services
  • Melissa Pasquinelli, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Natural Resources
  • Kesha Reed, Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Dean, DASA
  • Julia Rice, Director of Wellbeing, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Gavin Williams, Head, Department of Chemistry, College of Science