Skip to main content

Our Leadership

NC State Wellness Advisory Committee

The NC State Wellness Committee is a standing committee charged with creating and maintaining a culture that supports and promotes the overall wellness of NC State students, staff and faculty. The committee advises University administration and wellness partners to encourage inclusive dialogue, programs, services and initiatives that foster healthy decision-making.


  • Develop an NC State wellness strategy and further develop the vision for health and wellness across six elements of well-being: purpose, financial, physical, emotional, social and community.
  • Develop and oversee the implementation of a wellness strategic plan.
  • Recommend policies and strategies to support wellness initiatives for students, staff and faculty.
  • Support and encourage evidence-based programs and research related to wellness.

Committee Members

  • Lisa Zapata, Division of Academic and Student Affairs, Co-Chair
  • Tim Danielson, Human Resources, Co-Chair
  • Aaron Hipp, College of Natural Resources
  • Amy Sawyers-Williams, Arts NC State
  • Angel Bowers, Counseling Center and Prevention Services
  • Britt Hurst, Human Resources
  • Carla Davis , Office of Sustainability¬†
  • Chester Miller, Living and Learning Communities
  • Cynthia Levine, NCSU Libraries
  • Dan O’Brien, Human Resources
  • David Hunt, University Communications
  • David Rainer, Environmental Health & Public Safety
  • Deveshwar Hariharan, Graduate Student Association
  • Eric Hawkes, Wellness and Recreation
  • Gareth Washington, Human Resources
  • Tyler Pearce, Student Health Services
  • Julia Rice, College of Veterinary Medicine¬†
  • Julie Casani, Student Health Services
  • Kevin Rice, Human Resources
  • Krista Ringler, Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid
  • Lauren Smith, NC State Dining¬†
  • Lisa LaBarbera-Mascote, Women’s Center
  • Marcy Bullock, Career Development Center
  • Mark Newmiller, Disability Resource Office
  • McKenzy Heavlin, Student Government
  • Meghan Luzader, Housing
  • Michele Kurtz, Leadership and Civic Engagement & SI
  • Michelle Joshua, Athletics
  • Molly Vanhoy, Student Government
  • Monica Osburn, Counseling Center and Prevention Services
  • Natalie Ames, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Natalie Bress, Student Government
  • Nicki Peterson, DASA Development
  • Rebecca Woskoff, TRIO Programs
  • Sarah Ball, Health and Exercise Studies
  • Shannon DuPree, Wellness and Recreation
  • Ria Bakshi, Student Government
  • Shelly Brown Dobek, Fraternity and Sorority Life
  • Sheri Schwab, OIED
  • Suzie Goodell, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences